Ban Bitchy?


Ban bossy? No, ban bitchy!

Black Millennials

From the Ban Bossy campaign From the Ban Bossy campaign

The recent Ban Bossy campaign has been met with lukewarm response. Despite a slew of celebrity and political endorsements, public opinion reveals uncertainty about its implementation.

The campaign promotes female empowerment in young girls, and seeks to overthrow the word “bossy,” a term often used to undermine the prowess of strong female leaders. The tagline, as said by superstar Beyoncé, is: “I’m not bossy. I’m the boss.”

Ban Bossy is headed by Lean In, a nonprofit founded by Sheryl Sandberg COO of Facebook, and the Girl Scouts; two powerful organizations with ample resources to comprehensively address female empowerment and leadership skills.

Although I am supportive of the motivations behind the campaign, I have my doubts. For one, I personally never associated the word bossy with overwhelming negativity. I always connected it with “boss.” I always used the word in the most definitive…

View original post 548 more words

  1. Leave a comment

Tell VBA What You Think...

