My alumni magazine depresses me


Does your alumni magazine ever say to you, “You aren’t doing much, are you?”

thedorkydaddy

© Copyright 2010 CorbisCorporationSometimes reading my alumni magazines can make me depressed.

I’m just going to throw that out there.

Every now and then as the mail arrives, with it comes a brightly covered publication with someone smiling on the cover, ready to tell how great they are doing, loving what they do and how their time at the college made it happen.

And every time I get done flipping through the pages, I can’t help but think how easy they make it seem to be living the life they’ve dreamed, to be making a difference in the world, to be creating something.

I look at them and think ‘what have I been wasting my time doing?’

It can be a little depressing.

As I flip through the pages of each edition, there’s articles and notices like “John Smith has completed his fifth book, in stores now” or “Jane Doe is CEO of…

View original post 399 more words

  1. #1 by lorddavidprosser on June 27, 2013 - 21:36

    You’ve been reading too may Facebook success stories. Scroll those back to reality and then just accept that some people are super talented or super lucky and get on magazines. One day the writing may pay off and you can be on the front cover telling the story of your success and how college helped you on your way, totally ignoring all the years of hardship in between.

Tell VBA What You Think...

