"Metal Man Walking" : a novel

 

Hello fellow readers/writers –

Like so many, I also am seeking people to buy and review my novel METAL MAN WALKING which is available on Amazon.com or at my e-Store or at a local bookstore ( if you ask the store to order a copy, that is ).

Now I know it’s tough to go out on a limb to buy a book of which you know little to nothing from a writer who is virtually unknown, but –

Read the existing reviews ( honest ones, not paid for ) and you may find out I’m a good novelist with a great story to tell.

 

View original post

  1. #1 by lambskinny on September 13, 2012 - 23:35

    I apologize fellow VBA Winners. I really don’t want to offend anyone or make anyone question my motives. I started this blog a long time ago – well last year and my novels came later. Like most people who write or draw or paint or sing, I like an audience. That’s sort of the point. I promote my work everywhere I can. If that’s a problem, please just ignore my page! I do hope you will continue to visit and support your fellow bloggers, who work hard on their posts – just as you do.

    Blessings and all the usual pleasantries for your evening!

    Carley, your one and only VBA Administrator.

  2. #2 by Mados on September 13, 2012 - 16:34

    OK maybe I could have phrased it less bluntly, but I’m standing by my point. You say that it is a personal blog, but it is named versatilebloggeraward.wordpress.com, so it conveys the impression of being a community/neutral/information blog related to the Versatile Blogger Award. The tabs in the top, all about the Versatile Blogger Award, further confirms that impression.

    I have nothing against all the great posts or the effort you do to promote other blogs. I also thought the blog was a great initiative when I visited it more than a year ago. It is the bait-and-switch concept it has developed into that I criticise. It is sort of stealthy, or in the best case: messy/ a mix-up of purposes.

    • #3 by lambskinny on September 13, 2012 - 16:59

      Like I said – just ignore it then.

  3. #4 by Mados on September 13, 2012 - 16:16

    I’ve got a little rant. When I recently wrote a Versatile Blogger Award post, my expectation was to (of course) link back to this blog, but got second thoughts after revisiting it and will also give it a poor WOT rating, because:

    What’s going on here now is called a switch-and-bait strategy. Basically, the blog has one declared purpose but is used to promote something that’s entirely unrelated (fiction books).

    I know that probably wasn’t a deliberate strategy. I guess it went along these lines: this blog was started to genuinely serve a need for connecting blogs that had been given the VBA and provide an easy, consistent explanation they could link back to (great service).

    Then later the thought process went: ‘I need free, effective exposure to promote my books, where do I get that… Oh. Why don’t I utilise the huge audience I have build up on the Versatile Blogger Award blog’. Some people may have said that there is nothing wrong with that, but it is bad web-ethics to appear to be a neutral community service, while actually promoting unrelated products for personal gain. There is nothing wrong with promoting books online, as long as it is on a book-blog or the author’s personal blog, or something else that’s relevant for that purpose or in relation to the topics of the books. Not to butt it on wherever there is a big audience, whether it is relevant for that platform or not.

    [rant over]

    • #5 by lambskinny on September 13, 2012 - 16:22

      That’s unfortunate that you feel that way – you are welcome to ignore the many great posts of other bloggers that I feature here out of the goodness of my limited spare time …. Talk about a lack of gratitude ! I am the only VBA admin _ just ignore my books. No one cares except for sour people like you.

    • #6 by lambskinny on September 13, 2012 - 16:24

      This is my personal blog – I started it to promote other blogs – other than my own.

    • #7 by lambskinny on September 13, 2012 - 17:31

      It’s just one page – believe me people ignore all the great posts by other bloggers – I think that’s sad so I keep trying to promote ones I really love – oh well enough said . I’m really sorry you perceive this that way… ;(

    • #8 by lambskinny on September 13, 2012 - 17:31

      WOT?

Tell VBA What You Think...

