Why I’m Doing the WoC Vagina Monologues


lambskinny:

The Vagina Monologues… at Columbia University – like yesterday, I think?

Originally posted on Black Millennial Musings:

Vagina Monologues On Thursday and Friday, I will be in the Vagina Monologues at Columbia University.

The noted collection by Eve Ensler brings attention to the plight of women in the world. As a part of the global V-Day Campaigns, the controversial play is an unapologetic pronouncement in femininity and sexuality. It critiques the hardships many self-identified women face, while acknowledging the social rewards and come with carrying emotive female genitalia.

Already a contentious staple in cultural dialogue, the Columbia VagMo run will feature an all women of color cast. The added layer of race, self identity, and ethnic background are sure to arouse suspicion and hesitancy from those people uncomfortable with unabashed diversity.

I will be in the play. I’m The Woman Who Loved to Make Vaginas Happy. My monologue is challenging; I’m a tax attorney turned lesbian dominatrix. I go into detail about my rise in profession, and how much I love the…

View original 460 more words

  1. #1 by lesuper4nerd on February 27, 2014 - 17:32

    sherlock or supernatral join the dbate on my blog now!

Tell VBA What You Think...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,284 other followers